Roland Verhavert

Roland Verhavert (1927-2014) was a critic, teacher and director. From 1953 on, he worked for the former public broadcaster BRT as a technician and presenter of the film programmes Première and Close Up. Over the years he also directed several television films and documentaries for the BRT. From 1962, he taught at the film college HRITCS. He also acted as director for several films. His iconic feature debut Seagulls Die in the Harbour [Meeuwen sterven in de haven(1955), starring Julien Schoenaerts and Dora Van der Groen, was directed together with Rik Kuypers and writer Ivo Michiels. The existentialist drama, set against the backdrop of Antwerp port, was the first Belgian film to be included in the official selection for the Cannes film festival.

The pessimistic howl of the megalopolis, which tracks the wanderings of a tormented man in the port city of Antwerp through strongly expressionistic imagery. He can only count on the understanding of an orphan and two disillusioned women.

The pessimistic howl of the megalopolis, which tracks the wanderings of a tormented man in the port city of Antwerp through strongly expressionistic imagery. He can only count on the understanding of an orphan and two disillusioned women.

Subscribe to Roland Verhavert

Roland Verhavert

Roland Verhavert (1927-2014) était un critique, enseignant et réalisateur. À partir de 1953, il travaille pour la BRT, alors diffuseur de radio et télévision public, en tant que technicien et présentateur des émissions télé Première et Close Up. Au fil des ans, il réalise également plusieurs téléfilms et documentaires pour la BRT. À partir de 1962, il enseigne à l'école de cinéma HRITCS. Il réalise plusieurs films, dont son emblématique premier long métrage, Les mouettes meurent au port [Meeuwen sterven in de haven(1955), avec Rik Kuypers et l'écrivain Ivo Michiels, et avec Julien Schoenaerts et Dora Van der Groen dans les rôles principaux. Ce drame existentialiste avec le port d'Anvers comme toile de fond est le premier film belge à figurer dans la sélection officielle du festival de Cannes.

Ce cri pessimiste de détresse urbaine retrace en images très expressionnistes l'errance d'un homme tourmenté dans la ville portuaire d'Anvers, qui ne rencontre de compréhension qu'auprès d'un orphelin et de deux femmes sans illusions.

Ce cri pessimiste de détresse urbaine retrace en images très expressionnistes l'errance d'un homme tourmenté dans la ville portuaire d'Anvers, qui ne rencontre de compréhension qu'auprès d'un orphelin et de deux femmes sans illusions.

Subscribe to Roland Verhavert